How can we isolate and (re)use CO2? Develop innovative ideas or concepts with which CO2 could become an important raw material of the future and work together with EnBW on an important step towards a greener society!

Join Challenge now

02.03.20 – 27.04.20

Further collaboration and partnerships for students, start ups and reseachers

1. place: 4,000 Euros

2. place: 2,000 Euros

3. place: 1,000 Euros

Status Quo

The man-made increase in CO2 emissions is a serious global challenge. Even though attitudes have changed that measures to reduce CO2 emissions are necessary, the question remains: How can we shape the way to get there?

An approach that is becoming increasingly important revolves around the question of whether CO2 must necessarily be considered a pure waste product or whether CO2 could be more than that?

In general, CO2 fulfils the essential criteria for a circular economy: Like solid waste, it is an undesirable by-product of production and consumption, which is produced in large quantities and can be separated, transported and stored.

But are there also intelligent and sustainable uses and applications that create economic added value and generate demand for the resource CO2?

More and more sources say yes! They argue that CO2 does indeed have many potential uses and market options in areas such as (building) materials, industry, chemicals, plastics, fuels, agriculture or even food, which are not fully exploited today!

The Challenge

EnBW is looking for sustainable approaches around the topic of Carbon Capture and Utilization (CCU), which can help to overcome the current technical, commercial and/or financial barriers. This leads us to two key questions:

 

Is CO2 a valuable raw material that we can separate from industrial processes or even from the air and reuse sustainably?

Is it therefore possible to create a closed carbon cycle in the long term as a central element of a circular and greener economy?

The Job

Let yourself be inspired by different directions:

Promote the process of CO2 use to enable innovations along the entire CO2 cycle! Whether as direct reuse in production, recycled product, new business model or concept for a circular economy, you can choose for yourself.

further information on the From waste to value Challenge

Wie können wir CO2 Isolieren und (wieder) verwenden? Entwickelt innovative Ideen oder Konzepte, mit denenCO2 ein wichtiger Rohstoff der Zukunft werden könnte und arbeiten Sie gemeinsam mit der EnBW an einem wichtigen Schritt in Richtung einer grüneren Gesellschaft!

Jetzt an Challenge teilnehmen

02.03.20 – 27.04.20

Weitere Zusammenarbeit und Partnerschaften für Studenten, Startups und Researcher

1. Platz: 4.000 Euros

2.Platz: 2.000 Euros

3.Platz: 1.000 Euros

Status Quo

Der vom Menschen verursachte Anstieg der CO2-Emissionen ist eine ernsthafte globale Herausforderung. Auch wenn sich die Einstellung geändert hat, dass Maßnahmen zur Minderung der CO2-Emissionen erforderlich sind, bleibt die Frage bestehen: Wie können wir den Weg dorthin gestalten?

Ein Ansatz, der immer wichtiger wird, dreht sich um die Frage, ob CO2 notwendigerweise als reines Abfallprodukt betrachtet werden muss oder ob CO2 mehr sein könnte als das?

Generell erfüllt CO2 die wesentlichen Kriterien für eine Kreislaufwirtschaft: Es ist wie fester Abfall ein unerwünschtes Nebenprodukt aus Produktion und Konsum, das in großen Mengen anfällt und das abgetrennt, transportiert und gelagert werden kann.

Aber gibt es auch intelligente und nachhaltige Nutzungen und Anwendungsfälle, die einen wirtschaftlichen Mehrwert schaffen und eine Nachfrage nach der Ressource CO2 erzeugen?

Immer mehr Quellen sagen Ja! Sie argumentieren, dass CO2 in der Tat viele potenzielle Nutzungs- und Marktoptionen in Bereichen wie (Bau-)Materialien, Industrie, Chemie, Kunststoffe, Kraftstoffe, Landwirtschaft oder sogar Lebensmittel hat, die heute noch nicht vollständig genutzt werden!

The Challenge

EnBW sucht nachhaltige Ansätze rund um das Thema Carbon Capture and Utilization (CCU), die helfen können, die derzeitigen technischen, kommerziellen und/oder finanziellen Barrieren zu überwinden. Dies führt uns zu zwei Schlüsselfragen:

 

Ist CO2 ein wertvoller Rohstoff, den wir aus industriellen Prozessen oder sogar aus der Luft abtrennen und nachhaltig wiederverwenden können?
Ist es daher möglich, langfristig einen geschlossenen Kohlenstoffkreislauf als ein zentrales Element einer kreisförmigen und grüneren Wirtschaft zu schaffen?

The Job

Lass dich von den verschiedensten Richtungen inspirieren:

Fördert den Prozess der CO2-Nutzung, um Innovationen entlang des gesamten CO2-Kreislaufs zu ermöglichen! Ob als direkte wiederverwendung bei der Erzeugung, Recyclingprodukt, neues Geschäftsmodell oder Konzept für eine Kreislaufökonomie,  kannst du selbst wählen.